A Quickie Post- What I Made and Where I’ll Be

16 Mar

Off White- Sunday, March 20th 11-4

Off White Wedding Show

Sunday, March 20th is the Off White Wedding Show, the first indie wedding show in St. Louis! If you’re in St. Louis, or nearby, and want to see the best handmade wedding goodies the Midwest has to offer, swing by the Third Degree Glass Factory between 11-4 to see amazing handmade fashion and get a fabulous goody bag, including a Something Old Flower Pin Fascinator from Mignonette Designs! Don’t forget to attend the fashion show at 1 to see some amazing creations, including the brand-new Darcy Dress, the Jasper Dress, the Van Cleef,  and the reimagined Anne Dress in action. Plus, one lucky winner will receive a deluxe version of the Something Old Fascinator, made especially for Off White!

The Chicago Craft Social

Next Saturday (March 26th) I will be hosting a Grandma’s Button Box Fascinator workshop at the Craft Social at Catalyst Ranch with my friend Rebecca – if you’ve got the urge to get your craft on and make new friends, Craft Social promises to send you home with new skills and an armload of handmade goodies. Read organizer Amanda’s post about my project here!

Grandma's Button Box never looked so fabulous

The project entails dumping out the box of buttons and other broken treasures you inherited from your grandmother and never use, but refuse to throw out, and turning them into a gorgeous flower pin fascinator.  If you’re a quick learner you can even turn them into a bib necklace.  All supplies will be included with admission, so join us from 1-4 at the Ranch!

The Glass Slipper Project

For April I will be turning my attention to an organization that I’ve never worked on but have always wanting to get involved with – the Glass Slipper Project.  What’s this, you ask?  The Glass Slipper Project provides gorgeous prom and formal gowns, shoes, brand-new makeup, and jewelry,  to underprivileged girls so that they can look and feel gorgeous for their big night.  As someone who was often homeless in high school, I totally understand trying to keep up appearances in the high-pressure world of high school.  If there is no money for paying rent, you can bet there’s no money for a prom dress, a limo, or any of the other trappings of young adulthood.  I’m so excited that someone thought up this organization and I cannot WAIT to participate. I am volunteering as a personal shopper, so I’ll be helping girls pick out their outfits and advising them on fit and fun stuff like that.  I’m so psyched.

I’ve been a crafty  beaver (an actual store here!  I seem to be the only one who finds the name funny. Maybe I’m a 14 year-old boy) and have joined the Etsy Chicago Crafters street team and been going to meetings of the Chicago Craft Mafia (well,one meeting. When they have another, I will attend). I’ve been to industry events and fundraisers – last week, I even convinced Anne to volunteer at the Chicago Fashion Foundation scholarship event, and since my mother in-law is even more of a social butterfly than I am, we were even lucky enough to attend a fundraiser for opera in high schools. Between that and the large assortment of Targets, bbq stands, and pizza, I am enjoying it here.

Leave a Reply

