New York, New York – Quickie Pic Post

20 Sep

Anne and I drove out to Brooklyn last week so that I could have fittings with a bride who is getting married in October and needs a dress asap. We had four whirlwind days of fabric shopping, fitting, visiting, looking at photos, and frantic sewing sessions, resulting in a dress that can best be described thusly:
Cream snakeskin over cream silk chiffon, with a gold leather belt.
No seriously.
The dress started out as cream chiffon, a bride’s mainstay, with some kind of striped metallic lace over it, and then, as we spent more time in Mood (my favorite fabric store and the only one I will take my NY brides to), I noticed that my bride still wasn’t really smiling or loving any of the options.
I took her over to the costume and theatrical fabric section of the store, where she immediately pounced on a shiny, segmented cream faux snakeskin. It shimmers subtly and drapes beautifully, and I can’t wait to finish it and watch her walk down the aisle. Every time she came for a fitting and I wrapped the snakeskin around her shoulders she broke into the biggest, most gorgeous smile. What makes this whole process of designing custom wedding gowns really special for me is not just getting to make something pretty, because I sew all the time, it’s helping someone look the way they always envisioned themselves looking. I’m really happy that we stuck it out until she found something that reflected how unique, gorgeous, and special she really is. This dress is going to be nuts in the best way and I’m so excited to see it.

the Van Cleef in Central Park

The Van Cleef looking dreamy in Central Park


Also last week, because I too am nuts in the best way and love to over-commit, I was part of a bridal photo shoot with Sasha Chou Photography in Central Park. I have really been wanting to set up another shoot in New York, so this was the perfect opportunity, and I was doubly pleased because I got to work with an Asian model, finally. I don’t know if I’m advertising in the wrong place or what, but I have the hardest time finding Asian models, so Sasha asked a beautiful friend who is a tv personality on Sinovision to come be part of the shoot.
The Rhodes Dress on Eliz, Central Park 2011

Rhodes on Eliz, Central Park, Sept 2011

I wasn’t able to be there because I was busy sewing the cuff of my shirt to the lining of a wedding dress (not really, but we had some close moments), but Sasha did an incredible job and really captured some wonderful moments. I can’t wait to see the rest of the pics!

Leave a Reply

